From the debut of my first book, THE SEASONS OF THE EMMALEE, back in 2005, I’ve always been drawn to telling stories that revisit idyllic settings with a compelling historical context, with a parallel story told in present-day that follows related characters and story themes.  In my first two books, I explored the small Northern Michigan resort town of Charlevoix going back to the 1940’s and 50’s.
In my third novel, GRAYTON WINDS, the story was set in Prohibition-era Atlanta and the remote Florida village of Grayton Beach, also in the 1920’s.  In my latest book, LIES WE NEVER SEE, I was drawn to the Low Country of South Carolina with stories set in Charleston and Pawleys Island both in present day and back during the Civil War.  The story also unfolds on a distant Civil War battlefield called Palmetto Ranch in Texas where a senseless battle was fought weeks after the end of the war.
Here’s a quick summary of LIES WE NEVER SEE which debuts on March 9 on Amazon.

LWNS Cover 3d jpg

A South Carolina woman, struggling to endure the loss of her husband and financial ruin, finds an old journal from a distant grandmother who suffered a similar path of betrayal.

A compelling story of historical fiction and present-day mystery and suspense from Amazon Kindle #1 author, Michael Lindley.

Hanna Walsh’s husband is found murdered in Charleston, South Carolina. His failed land deal leaves her family and finances in ruins. The FBI thinks she knows more than she’s letting on and a dangerous stranger thinks she’s hiding several million dollars he wants back.

An old letter and journal found in the attic of the family’s beach house on Pawley’s Island reveals her distant grandmother, who owned the same house as a young widow during the Civil War, suffered similar travails of emotional loss and financial hardship. Her grandmother’s story chronicles the tragic loss of her husband in a senseless battle fought weeks after the war had ended and a mysterious stranger who has returned to tell of her husband’s needless death. Hanna finds their journeys of redemption and recovery both depend on those they still hold close, but betrayal and deliverance come in many unexpected forms.

Michael Lindley’s new fourth novel continues his series of stories of love, challenged relationships and life struggles with parallel storylines set in both present day and compelling historical contexts. His first novel, THE SEASONS OF THE EMMALEE was twice an Amazon Kindle #1 for Historical Fiction, Mystery and Suspense.

Praise and Five Stars for Michael Lindley novels…

“… Lindley is a masterful storyteller, effortlessly moving between past and present.”
“… his work reads elegantly and is artfully crafted.”
“… beautifully merges storylines of then and now.”
“… a rising talent.”

%d bloggers like this: